‘It’s not really cricket’: Kane Williamson admits New Zealand’s agonising World Cup final defeat on boundary countback was ‘hard to take’
- New Zealand were beaten at Lord’s after a tie in both the match and super over
- The rule which decided the World Cup final has since been abolished by the ICC
- Kane Williamson admits the trauma still lives on for New Zealand four months on
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has described the astonishing conclusion to July’s World Cup final as ‘not really cricket’ after his side were deprived of the trophy by the obscure boundary countback rule.
The rule, which came into play after both the match and the super over finished as a tie, has since been abolished by the ICC – though the trauma lives on in New Zealand cricket circles.
‘It was hard to take,’ said Williamson ahead of his return to international cricket after sitting out the Twenty20 series against England with a hip injury.
Kane Williamson believes the conclusion to the World Cup final in July was ‘not really cricket’
Jos Buttler ran out Martin Guptill to give England a super over victory in the Lord’s showpiece
‘We didn’t quite know how it was unfolding at the time, and how it was going to be decided. I remember getting filled in as the game progressed.
‘It’s not really a surprise it’s been abolished. I genuinely think no one ever thought it was going to happen. At times, you think about how some of those decisions are made – probably people sitting in a room and throwing a few ideas around.
‘And then for it to actually happen is a pretty scary thing. It’s not really cricket and I think both teams appreciated that.
‘But it was a fantastic game to be a part of. I think everyone has played 100s of games of cricket and never had one decided quite like that. It is what it is and they were the rules at the time. But, yeah, no surprises that it’s changed.’
Williamson admits the nature of New Zealand’s defeat four months ago was ‘hard to take’